CIRCUIT

Animated movie (2018), 8 min., director: Delia Hess

Teaser

Synopsis: A fish farmer, a melon collector, two synchronized swimmers, a thinker, and two cyclists live on a small planet whose only human inhabitants they are. Yet most of them have never met. Caught up in their own private universe, they perform their poetically surreal actions, which repeat themselves in an endless loop. They are oblivious to the fact that they are part of a complex little ecosystem, which can only function if each of them plays his or her role – a fact which the audience gradually comes to realize.

Screenings: Locarno Film Festival 1.-11. Aug., Locarno (Switzerland) / Festival Silhouette 24. Aug - 1. Sept., Paris (France) / Fantoche International Animation Festival 4.-9. Sept, Baden (Switzerland) / Animatou International Animation Festival 5.-13. Oct, Geneva (Switzerland) / TIAF Taichung International Animation Festival 10.-16. Nov., Taichung (Taiwan)

World Sales: Ouat Media

 

 

MIRR

Documentary movie (2016), 90 min., director: Mehdi Sahebi

Trailer

Festivals and awards: Best Feature Film, Best Documentary, Best Director, Best Music at the Lisbon International Film Awards; Förderpreis Stadt Duisburg at the Duisburg Film Week; Dokumentarfilmpreis Internationales Filmfestival Cinematograph Innsbruck; Prix Bartok and Prix monde en regards at the Festival International Jean Rouch, Paris; Publikumspreis Dokumentarfilm at the Provinziale, Filmfest Eberswalde; Special Mention at Filmkunstfest Mecklenburg-Vorpommern; Nomination Prix de Soleure at the Solothurn Film Festival; Dokumentarfilmwoche Hamburg; Iran International Documentary Film Festival

Press reviews: “Unexpected and totally thrilling” Michael Krogerus, Das Magazin / “Very disturbing and very, very strong” Marcy Goldberg, SRF / “Like an unexpected gulp of medicine” Giorgia Del Don, Cineuropa

Synopsis: In the heart of a huge rubber plantation in north-eastern Cambodia, Binchey, a father of five children, cultivates his last field. He knows it’s only a matter of time before the big landowners, who are dispossessing everyone around him, take this one as well. An existential question therefore arises: what will his family live on in the future? Their precarious prospects strike at their inmost being and become a crucial test. Unlike his sons, however, Binchey hopes to find a new piece of land. He goes in search of one – and returns a changed man.

 

 

OS LOVE

Animated movie (2016), 6 min., director: Luc Gut

Trailer

Festivals and awards: Animated Grand Prix Award, Special Mention, at Encounters Short Film and Animation Festival Bristol; participated in numerous festivals (including Fantoche, Animation Film Festival Tallinn, Animatou Geneva, NIFFF, The Short Film Festival of Switzerland, Flickerfest i.a.)

Press reviews: “A cleverly produced art movie that satirizes electronic communication media with a great deal of humor” Denis Marquard, Tages-Anzeiger / “With extremely creative resources and a lot of profound humor” Ruth Baettig, Filmexplorer / “'OS Love' is happiness with one click. My favorite short movie at this year’s Film Festival!” Seraina Rohrer, Director of the Solothurn Film Festival, Basler Zeitung

Synopsis: A young woman, a computer. In the far reaches of the Internet she seeks relaxation, vacation, meditation. However, something keeps putting a spanner in the works: the computer itself wanting to update a program, new Facebook notifications, or the “ping” indicating that there are eight new e-mails in the in-box. With wry humor and a wonderful sense of rhythm, OS Love presents a modern-day tête-à-tête between a human being and her computer.

 

       

THE MASTER AND MAX

Feature movie (2015), 83 min., director: Marcel Derek Ramsay

Trailer

VOD

Festivals and awards: Platinum Award at the International Film Festival Jakarta, Swiss representative at the Festival Internacional de Cine de Guadalajara, Mexico, Solothurner Filmtage i.a.

Press reviews: “Captivating! An original, enchanting work of cinematic poetry of astounding beauty” Sandrine Marques, Le Monde / “A highly talented director who has come up with a completely new idea.” Herbert Spaich, SWR /“Intelligently, indeed in masterly fashion, Klopfenstein’s life work is made to fit a new narrative framework.” Andreas Kilb, FAZ / “A cinematic bravura piece that makes you want to (re-)discover Klopfenstein’s cult movies” Christian Jungen, NZZ am Sonntag / “An amusing reflection on the Swiss mentality” Charlotte Garson, Cahiers du Cinéma / “Cause for celebration: ‘The Master and Max’ is intelligent movie recycling, a clever and at the same time affectionate mosaic of movies by the Old Master Clemens Klopfenstein” Till Brockmann, NZZ

Synopsis: Max is a fictitious character – a product of the imagination of the movie-maker Klopfenstein, who also created Max’s beloved Christine. However, the director has long been plagued by a creative crisis. His fictitious figures therefore wander aimlessly through their creator’s movie world, trapped on an eternally changeless treadmill. When Max once again falls in love with the fun-loving Christine, only for his advances to be rejected by her, he comes to a decision: he will seek out his “master” in the hope that the movie-maker will finally free him from being condemned to play the same role forever. And he receives very special permission…

This compilation movie, put together from the works of Clemens Klopfenstein, dares to attempt something unique in movie history: based on the works of one single director, it tells a new, completely original story that at the same time reveals the very essence of the movie-maker’s universe.

 

IN PRODUCTION

 

MY LIFE IS A GUNSHOT

Documentary movie, director: Marcel Derek Ramsay

Noise musician Joke Lanz has a loyal fan base. And a dreadful image: his stage performances see him taking a beating, emitting deafening screams or exhausting himself till the blood flows. For the privilege, he denies himself all luxury in his personal life. How does someone end up living this way? This movie explores the life a sensitive artist haunted for decades by a trauma: when he was 12, his father shot himself on the roof of their house. Joke has been trying to come to terms with it ever since. This also affects his own role as a father, which is equally fraught with problems for him. The shock of becoming a father himself following the birth of his son became the trigger for his life’s project “Sudden Infant”, in which he has involved his son Céleste, now an adult, since his earliest childhood. This is a movie about fathers, sons, and what happens when traumatized sons become fathers. And become musicians whose art is, in some measure, a form of self-therapy.

WARUM SCHNECKEN KEINE BEINE HABEN (WHY SLUGS DON’T HAVE LEGS)

Animated movie, director: Aline Höchli

If you’ve always wondered why slugs don’t have legs, you’ll know the answer after this movie: a biological fairy tale from the insect world. Once upon a time slugs did have legs. However, they’ve always been slow. So slow and sleepy that they became unendurable for their employers, the insects. In actual fact, they plunged them into disaster. As a punishment, the slugs had to give their arms and legs away: to the bees, flies and ants, which could then catch up on the work the slugs had neglected. From that time onward, slugs no longer had legs, but the other insects had six. But can you live more happily with six extremities than none, when you have to work day and night? The movie knows the answer: absolutely not!

 

IN DEVELOPMENT

SCHWARZER PETER (BLACK CLOUDS)

Mockumentary, director: Antoine Jaccoud 

Two fictional characters, a black journalist and a translator, set out to uncover the truth behind the unsolved case of a frozen black corpse found in the Diemtig Valley – and clash with very real protagonists who were directly or indirectly involved in the story. A documentary satire with deeply bitter undertones.

 

CHIKLY TIMES

Documentary movie, director: Mariann Lewinsky

The whole world has heard of the Lumière brothers and Georges Méliès. Now, there’s a new movie pioneer to discover: Albert Samama Chikly, the first ever movie-maker from the continent of Africa, a flamboyant, thoroughly charming personality whose legacy is a collection of unique cinematic documents.

CIRCUIT

Animationsfilm (2018), 8 Min., Regie: Delia Hess

Teaser

Auszeichnungen und Festivals: Coup de coeur Benshi, Festival Silhouette, Paris; Fantastic Swiss Award, Fantoche International Animation Festival, Baden; Special mention am Animatou International Animation Festival, Genf; zahlreiche Festivalteilnahmen, u.a. International Film Festival Locarno; London International Animation Festival; Taichung International Animation Festival; Milano Film Festival; Warsaw Film Festival; Tehran International Shortfilm Festival; Interfilm Shortfilm Festival, Berlin; International Environmental Film Festival FICMA, Barcelona; Green Screen Environmental Film Festival, Port of Spain; Visionaria Shortfilm Festival, Siena; Bosphorus International Film Festival, Istanbul; Animation Marathon, Athen; Animateka International Animation Festival, Ljubljana (Festivalauswertung noch im Gange) 

Synopsis: Ein Fischzüchter, eine Melonensammlerin, zwei Synchronschwimmerinnen, ein Denker und zwei Radfahrer leben auf einem kleinen Planeten, dessen einzige menschliche Bewohner sie sind. Dennoch kennen sich die meisten von ihnen untereinander nicht. Gefangen in ihrem privaten Universum, vollführen sie ihre poetisch-surrealen Handlungen, die sich fortwährend im Kreis drehen. Dass sie Teil eines komplexen kleinen Ökosystems sind, das nur funktionieren kann, wenn jeder seine Rolle ausführt, ist ihnen nicht bewusst und wird auch dem Zuschauer erst nach und nach klar. 

Weltvertrieb: Ouat Media

 

MIRR

Dokumentarfilm (2016), 90 Min., Regie: Mehdi Sahebi

Trailer

Auszeichnungen und Festivals: Best Feature Film, Best Documentary, Best Director, Best Music an den Lisbon International Film Awards; Förderpreis der Stadt Duisburg an der Duisburger Filmwoche; Dokumentarfilmpreis Internationales Filmfestival Cinematograph Innsbruck; Prix Bartok und Prix monde en regards am Festival International Jean Rouch, Paris; Publikumspreis Dokumentarfilm an der Provinziale, Filmfest Eberswalde; Special Mention am Filmkunstfest Mecklenburg-Vorpommern; Nomination Prix de Soleure an den Solothurner Filmtagen; Dokumentarfilmwoche Hamburg; Iran International Documentary Film Festival

Presse: «Überraschend und total mitreissend» Michael Krogerus, Das Magazin / «Sehr verstörend und sehr, sehr stark» Marcy Goldberg, SRF / «Wie ein unerwarteter Schluck Medizin» Giorgia Del Don, Cineuropa

Synopsis: Inmitten einer riesigen Kautschukplantage im Nordosten Kambodschas bewirtschaftet Binchey, ein Vater von fünf Kindern, sein letztes Feld. Er weiss, dass es nur eine Frage der Zeit ist, bis die Grossgrundbesitzer, die alle rundum enteignen, ihm auch noch dieses nehmen. Damit stellt sich die existenzielle Frage, wovon die Familie künftig leben soll. Die ungesicherte Zukunft trifft sie im Innersten und wird zur Zerreissprobe. Anders als seine Söhne hat Binchey jedoch die Hoffnung, ein neues Stück Land zu finden. Er macht sich auf die Suche – und kehrt verändert zurück.

 

OS LOVE

Animationsfilm (2016), 6 Min., Regie: Luc Gut

Teaser

VOD

Auszeichnungen und Festivals: Animated Grand Prix Award, Special Mention, am Encounters Short Film and Animation Festival Bristol; zahlreiche Festivalteilnahmen (u.a. Fantoche, Animation Film Festival Tallinn, Animatou Genf, NIFFF, Kurzfilmtage Winterthur, Flickerfest)

Presse: «Ein raffiniert produzierter Kunstfilm, der mit viel Humor elektronische Kommunikationsmedien persifliert» Denis Marquard, Tages-Anzeiger / «Mit höchst kreativen Mitteln und viel tiefgründigem Humor» Ruth Baettig, Filmexplorer / «'OS Love' ist Glück auf einen Klick. Mein Kurzfilm-Favorit der diesjährigen Filmtage!» Seraina Rohrer, Direktorin der Solothurner Filmtage, Basler Zeitung

Synopsis: Eine junge Frau, ein Computer. Sie sucht in den Weiten des Internets nach Entspannung, Urlaub, Meditation. Doch ständig funkt etwas dazwischen: der Computer selber, der ein Programm aktualisieren will, Facebook-Nachrichten oder das «Ping», das anzeigt, dass acht neue Emails im Posteingang sind. Mit Humor und Rhythmusgefühl zeigt «OS Love» ein zeitgenössisches Tête-à-Tête zwischen Mensch und Computer.

 

DER MEISTER UND MAX

Spielfilm (2015), 83 Min., Regie: Marcel Derek Ramsay

Trailer

VOD

Auszeichnungen und Festivals: Platinum Award am International Film Festival Jakarta; Schweizer Vertreter am Festival Internacional de Cine de Guadalajara, Mexico; Solothurner Filmtage

Presse: «Hinreissend! Ein originelles, bezauberndes Kino-Gedicht von stupender Schönheit» Sandrine Marques, Le Monde / «Ein hochtalentierter Regisseur, der sich etwas völlig Neues einfallen liess» Herbert Spaich, SWR / «Auf kluge, ja geradezu virtuose Weise wird das Lebenswerk Klopfensteins in eine neue Rahmenhandlung hinein montiert» Andreas Kilb, FAZ / «Ein cineastisches Bravourstück, das Lust macht, Klopfensteins Kult-Filme (wieder) zu entdecken» Christian Jungen, NZZ am Sonntag / «Eine amüsante Reflexion zur Schweizer Mentalität» Charlotte Garson, Cahiers du Cinéma / «Ein Grund zum Feiern: 'Der Meister und Max' ist intelligentes Film-Recycling, ein gewitztes und zugleich liebevolles Mosaik aus Filmen von Altmeister Clemens Klopfenstein» Till Brockmann, NZZ 

Synopsis: Max ist eine fiktive Figur – geboren aus der Fantasie des Filmemachers Klopfenstein, der auch Max’ Angebetete Christine erschuf. Bereits seit Langem hat der Regisseur allerdings eine Schaffenskrise. Und so geistern seine Charaktere verloren in der Film-Welt ihres Schöpfers herum, gefangen im Ewigselben. Als Max sich einmal mehr in die lebenshungrige Christine verliebt, von dieser aber zurückgewiesen wird, fasst er einen Entschluss: Er sucht seinen «Meister» auf in der Hoffnung, dass dieser ihn von seiner Verdammung zur immergleichen Rolle befreit. Und bekommt eine ganz besondere Erlaubnis.

Der Kompilationsfilm, montiert aus den Werken Clemens Klopfensteins, wagt etwas, was in der Filmgeschichte bisher einzigartig ist: Er erzählt auf Basis des Werks eines einzigen Regisseurs eine neue, ganz eigenständige Geschichte, die zugleich die Essenz des Filmemachers spürbar macht.

 

IN PRODUKTION

 

MY LIFE IS A GUNSHOT

Dokumentarfilm, Regie: Marcel Derek Ramsay

Der Noise-Künstler Joke Lanz hat eine treue Fangemeinde. Und ein krasses Image: Auf der Bühne lässt er sich schlagen, schreit ohrenbetäubend oder verausgabt sich, bis Blut fliesst. Um das tun zu können, verzichtet er privat auf jeglichen Luxus. Wie kommt einer dazu, so zu leben? Der Film spürt einem sensiblen Künstler nach, den seit Jahrzehnten ein Ereignis verfolgt: Als er zwölf Jahre alt war, erschoss sich sein Vater auf dem Hausdach. Seither versucht Joke, einen Umgang damit zu finden. Genauso wie mit seiner eigenen Vaterrolle, die entsprechend belastet ist. Der Schock nach der Geburt seines Sohnes, nun selber Vater zu sein, war denn auch Auslöser für sein Lebensprojekt «Sudden Infant», in das er seinen inzwischen erwachsenen Céleste schon seit frühester Kindheit mit einbezieht. Ein Film über Väter, Söhne und darüber, was passiert, wenn traumatisierte Söhne zu Vätern werden. Und zu Musikern, die sich mit ihrer Kunst auch ein Stückweit selbst therapieren.

 

WARUM SCHNECKEN KEINE BEINE HABEN

Animationsfilm, Regie: Aline Höchli

Wer sich schon immer gefragt hat, warum Schnecken keine Beine haben, der weiss es nach diesem Film: ein biologisches Märchen aus dem Insektenreich: Schnecken waren nicht immer beinlos. Aber langsam waren sie seit jeher. So langsam und verträumt, dass sie für ihre Arbeitgeber, die Insekten, untragbar wurden. Ja, sie sogar in ein Desaster stürzten. Zur Strafe mussten die Schnecken ihre Arme und Beine abgeben: den Bienen, Fliegen und Ameisen, die so die versäumte Arbeit der Schnecken wieder aufholen konnten. Seither haben die Schnecken keine Beine mehr, die anderen Insekten dafür sechs. Aber ob es sich mit sechs Extremitäten glücklicher lebt als ohne, wenn man dafür Tag und Nacht arbeiten muss? Der Film kennt die Antwort: eindeutig nein!

 

 

IN ENTWICKLUNG

KLEINE LEBEN 

Dokumentarfilm, Regie: Natalie Pfister

Der Film zeigt den Alltag in zwei Sozialdiensten im Osten und im Westen der Schweiz. Hier werden die Lebensrealitäten der Ärmsten in diesem reichen Land verhandelt. 

 

SCHWARZER PETER

Mockumentary, Regie: Antoine Jaccoud 

Zwei fiktive Charaktere, ein schwarzer Journalist und seine Übersetzerin, machen sich auf, um den bis heute ungelösten Fall einer schwarzen, gefroren vorgefundenen Leiche im Diemtigtal zu klären – und prallen dabei auf ganz reale Protagonisten, die in die Geschichte direkt oder indirekt verwickelt waren. Eine dokumentarische (Real-)Satire mit bitterbösem Unterton.

 

CHIKLY TIMES

Dokumentarfilm, Regie: Mariann Lewinsky

Alle Welt kennt die Brüder Lumière und Georges Méliès. Nun gibt es noch einen Filmpionier zu entdecken: Albert Samama Chikly, den ersten Filmemacher des afrikanischen Kontinents überhaupt, eine flamboyante, hochcharmante Persönlichkeit, die uns einzigartige filmische Dokumente hinterliess.